Consumer Advocate Offices


Most states and the District of Columbia have established and fund utility consumer advocate offices to represent consumers before federal and state utility regulatory commissions, other agencies, and the courts. However, ten states and the Virgin Islands do not allocate funding for a utility consumer advocate office. These states are Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. Both Oregon and Wisconsin have state-authorized citizen utility boards, and Idaho and Nebraska fund limited intervention by ratepayer representatives.

Consumer Advocate Offices: Policy

Creation and funding

In this policy: FederalState

Policymakers should establish and sufficiently fund independent federal and state utility consumer advocate offices to represent the interests of residential utility consumers before regulatory agencies and in the courts.